College students should ibe encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The recommendation positively attributes the college students to their subject of interest and that I would indeed agree with.

Surely, if college students pursue subjects that interest them, they are more likely to perform better in those courses. In school students are taught a common curriculum which provides them the basic knowledge for any courses they would want to pursue in future. Many school students develop their interest in particular courses during the school time, while others might be guided by their teachers or guardians to proceed with their college education. They should certainly encourage students to pursue courses that interest them, as given the freedom to choose allows them enjoy studying in college as well as be creative in developing a career in their field of interest.

Further expanding the view, where students in school develop interest in specific courses be it maths or history or any subject, they should be given the choice to pursue those subjects. Encouraging could provide them with a positive attitude and enthusiasm in moving to college and give their best performance as they have a predilection to that particular course. They will enjoy exploring different dimensions of the courses and could even come up with interesting careers. For example, if Zaha Hadid, the first female architect to win the Pritzker Prize Award, was forced to pursue engineering just because it seemed most likely to lead to jobs then she wouldn’t influence the world with her deconstructive style of architecture. It is thus, important that students lead the subjects they choose, not forced to choose subjects that seemingly lead to job. Given a chance, they could inspire and create jobs for other students in future who pursue the same interests.

Moreover, if students are forced into taking courses that seem most likely leading to jobs, over the courses that interest them, it could harm their overall career as jobs are ephemeral in terms of their existence. Considering a scenario where students interested in arts are forced to pursue a career in engineering just because jobs seem to be available currently in that field or vice versa, they could first of all get frustrated in studying the course and secondly, could end up having a bad performance in college. Even if the students somehow get along with the college and the bad performance, it is possible that they fail to find a job, due to the weak job market during the same time. Also, given a job they could be impeded to perform well due to lack of skills in that particular subject and eventually lose the job or be unsatisfied with their work. On the other hand, if the students are encouraged to pursue course of their interest, their performance could be outstanding and could have a great career in that field. Even if jobs are not available momentarily students could find ways of progressing because of the interest they have in that field. There is no guarantee of jobs in any field; therefore they should not be forced to rely on the courses where jobs seem likely.

Although, one might as well argue that not every student is clear with their interests as well as the courses they should pursue and in such cases they should be encouraged to choose courses that lead to jobs. However, these students should be guided by their guardians and teachers as they know where the strength of these students lies. They should be aware of the students potential in particular subjects and should be incited to endeavour courses on the same track. Again, jobs are never guaranteed and should not be considered the deciding factor of student’s career path as students forced to do so could end up performing worst and this could severely damage their minds, as they could blame the people who forced them to pursue that career or regret for not pursuing their choice of course or even judge themselves for not having the ability to do well academically.

A famous quote by Albert Einstein “Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish on its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid” is applicable to the students who could fail to progress in the courses they are forced to pursue. If everyone is forced to pursue the courses that seemingly lead to jobs then the world could fall scarce of genius people. Therefore, college students should certainly be encouraged to pursue the subjects that interest them.