Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

Essay topics

Colleges and universities are institutions of higher learning that provide both student and faculty with valuable knowledge in all fields. Faculties in colleges or universities are usually composed of professors, assistant and associate professors, lecturers, and other teaching and research staff in every department or school in the institution. They all specialize in various research areas and impart their students with vast knowledge and skills in their specific majors or programs. To purport that these academic institutions should require their faculty to spend time working outside the academic world is considerably superficial.

Faculty spend a lot of time in lecture halls, libraries, laboratories, seminars and other areas doing research and advancing there knowledge and skills in order to accurately interpret and relay information to their students. They also have to write grants and publish their research to the general public. These activities are time-consuming, repetitive and require effort to manage, thus giving them little or no time to venture into other fields outside academia. Part of university professors income usually come from their published work. Working in other professions may therefore jeopardize parts of their income.

It is probable that most of the faculty members have families and need to maintain their social life. As much as the idea of them working in other professions seems valuable, it is in fact not feasible to balance both their demanding academic profession with another. For example, students often seek help from their professors during unofficial hours to ask questions about content they do not understand in class. This would prove difficult if the professor was working in a different place.

Finally, faculties are typically composed of individuals who have specialized in certain areas of research and scarcely need to improve their knowledge outside academia. This is because universities and colleges provide resources necessary for them to sharpen their knowledge and skills in both theoretical and practical disciplines. They also have special chambers set up in libraries and other areas to help them interact with others of different departments and share knowledge. It would therefore be a waste of limited resources to require all faculty to spend time working in other professions. Instead, it would be beneficial to implement programs that support faculty learning and interests to enrich their work and help them in teaching and lecturing their students.