Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

Essay topics

Colleges and universities should encourage all faculty to work in professions outside the academic world which are relevant to the courses they teach. Generally, professors follow the same curriculum year after year and this might dampen their creativity. To remain aware and informed, faculty must stay connected with people in the same courses with different applications. To substantiate my stance, I present the below mentioned reasons.

Lecturers, when working outside of their academic world, will get introduced to a whole new population in the same field of interest. This will help them learn new aspects about their course which will help them diversify their thoughts and opinions about the minute details of course. It can thereby help them impart the same teachings to their students and help them become better. It can also be useful in learning new tricks and techniques of teaching which will eventually lead to their success in academics.

As I alluded to earlier, professors will be exposed to a new set of population with varying views and opinions. This will lead to a sense of competition which can help them improve at a personal front. Such competition can motivate them to work harder, dive deeper into the intricacies of the course and hence, add to their knowledge bank and excel in the field. It will also help the professors stay up to date with the latest findings in the course.

In addition to the above, the professors can also invest more time in research and share their ideas with a wide range of population with similar learnings. It will lead to faster and more efficient results. Putting the knowledge out in front of the world also motivates a person to lean towards efficiency and in-depth knowledge. Moreover, as one gains more exposure in the industry and about the outside world, they can help prepare their classes for the future and make them corporate ready by introducing professionalism and various industry jargons which can excite and encourage the students.

Albeit, some might say that managing teaching and a second profession might get overwhelming for some. However, it will also help them with time management. It can help them learn the delivery of important things with utmost confidence and make the teachings more resilient.

The incorporation of professions outside of the colleges and universities will introduce important traits such as confidence and efficiency in professors and hence, it is a good step towards making the faculty better.