Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

Essay topics

I disagree with the statement as it is presented. I think that it may be usefull for certain faculty members to work in proffessions relevant to the course but this does not have be usefull for each faculty member and as such compelling all of faculty to do so could rather be harmfull then helpfull for the quality of the teaching.

In general it may be usefull for somebody who e.g. teaches civil engineering to work some time in the industry so that he gets insights on latest technology, the state of the industry, the job market and in a broader sense 'how things work in the industry'. Passing this insights to the students may be very helpfull to them as they would also learn alot about everything around the proffession that they are learning, not only the academic knowledge. Further, the quality of the teaching could be improved as the teachers could tailor their courses to current, up to date industry needs. As such the students from the given school would have a more competitive standing on the job market when graduating.

However, there may be many cases in which working in the proffession outside the academic world would not be beneficial. Consider a mathematics teacher. Mathemetics is a highly theoretical academic field. For a math teacher it may be more appropriate to use the time that would otherwise be spend on working in the industry to read papers, to visit conferences, to visit other proffessors form other universities to see how they organise their teaching etc. and not working in some proffession that a math student may be working in after graduating.

The general point here is, that going into a proffession for a university teacher may or may not be appropriate given his specific circumstances. As such it would not be appropriate to compell each faculty memeber to do so. They should deceide on their own which activities to pursue outside teaching that may benefit their students.

For the university it would be more wise to use the HR strategy that many big sillicon valley firms such as Google or Facebook adpot. On the one hand they should hire very compent people. If they hire people who really love what they do they will try to improve their teaching or more generally whatever their function is from their own inner impulses. At Google for instance, employees have one day in the week off in order to persue whatever they want. Usually the people do not use this time for leisure but work on their own ideas how to improve current products or invent new ones. On the other hand they should offer encouragements and benefits for them if they enage in some additional activies outside teaching. For instance a university could simply offer an exchange programm for their faculty members in cooperation with some large firms that allows people from faculty to work temporarly for one of the partner firms without having this tedious application process that applicants usually face. Rather then forcing people this would be a soft encouragement and anybody who feels that this is not the appropriate thing to do would enage in another activity they could otherwise not pursue because they would be compelled to do something they feel is unnessary.

Therefore the purposed policy would be rather harmfull for the overall quality of the teaching.