Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country

While most of the students spend their entire college life studying in the same college or university, it should be made mandatory by the respective colleges and universities that students should spend at least one semester studying in another university located in a foreign country.

If students are provided with such a golden opportunity at the starting of their careers, it will provide them with a lot of exposure to a culture which is not of their country. Studying in a different culture with different environment, people, their way of working and living will put the students in a space which will be out of their comfort zones. In the process of overcoming or trying to overcome these challenges the student will definitely add values to themselves and would be better in some way or another than they were before. Also, it would provide them with an experience of working in different environment at such an early stage of their career. A student who spent 30 days of his/her life studying in new environment will definitely get to learn more than a student who spends 30 days of his/her again under the same conditions and environment.

Further, such an opportunity will also make way for the students to get to know and interact with fellow students from other diverse countries and backgrounds. Students can also expand their personal network and knowledge base by interacting with professors and academicians of different countries and not just their own. A student who is still studying in his own college has access to limited number of people to network with, but if they are sent to foreign country, suddenly, the domain of the people with which the student can interact increases drastically. Also, interacting with people from such diverse backgrounds will open up the thinking domain of many students and they might start taking things from a new perspective.

However, some would argue that arranging for an opportunity like this will require the students to pay a lot of money and can be a financial burden on the family for many. This problem can be overcome with the due support of the colleges and universities, which should provide scholarships and financial assistance to the students based on their past academic performances.

Since the benefits like exposure to diverse culture and opportunity to interact with people with diverse backgrounds weigh far more than the financial problem, therefore, colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester in foreign country.