Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

It is well-known that the process of education differs from country to country due to vast differences in ideologies, wealth, accumulated knowledge, type and structure of a country’s population, and more. Nations can indeed learn a huge deal from each other. The prompt recommends that colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester in a foreign country as part of their undergraduate or graduate studies. I my opinion, I mostly disagree with the prompt and argue that while it would indeed be a rich learning experience for a student to live and attend school in a foreign country, on a larger scale, it might not favor many nations to do so. I will give two reasons to support my answer in my thesis.

To begin with, while sending students abroad might be feasible for a country in the west, for example the United States, there are many developing countries like India or countries that are even worse-off, who cannot find the means to collaborate with foreign universities and send all their students abroad. Many would struggle to cover their students’ flight and visa expenses even partially. There are millions of students in India who graduate every year. Would the country have decided to take up the expenses of the students who would go abroad, even partially, the country would have to pay billions of dollars every year. This money could be better spent taking care of more pressing matters. Furthermore, many students and their families are not financially equipped to take-on the expenses of a student’s foreign stay, even if the expenses were partially covered. Going abroad is a massive choice to make, and one must consider all factors while dealing with this choice, even financial ones. Furthermore, there may be other reasons why a person might not decide to go abroad. These could include valid ones like just wishing to stay in one’s own country. Some people might have health-issues, physical or mental. Others might have to support their families in some way, and going to a foreign country might put a lot of stress on people who say, are living with single parents who require their help, or those who have to take care of their old grandparents, who are dependent on the student. Forcing a massive situation on students such as going to a foreign land for a duration of six months would be a cruel way to hit a family.

Secondly, considering an extreme case in a bigger scenario, sending a large quantity of students abroad every year, might result in the influx of harmful ideologies from potential enemy nations as well. If the home nation decides not to control where their students go, a large number could go to nations who are potential enemies. These students could be at risk of propaganda, and will then become weapons that the enemy country can deploy. Afterall, the easiest way to defeat an enemy is to change their ideology. And the easiest way to do that is to control what they learn. Of course, this is just a risk and an extreme situation, one that is not likely to occur. However, a country while making such broad-scale decisions must consider all these possibilities. If a democratic country forces massive situations like going abroad onto their own citizens, how are they different from a communist regime like the USSR?

We have to accept the positives that such a policy could make, like the fact that this would foster great exchange of ideas, teach students to adapt to different places, broaden their exposures, and give them a different experience. This is why, the issue is more complicated than it seems. A better approach would indeed be to give positive incentives to students to go abroad. After all, staying in a foreign land must completely be a person’s individual choice and not a situation forced upon citizens.