Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Education, as defined by John Dewey, is a process of learning and gaining knowledge, skills, values and habits. This objective can only be achieved when the focus of students is on the holistic learning process and not confined to high grades. Therefore, the statement that the competition for high grades limits the quality of learning at all education levels holds considerable merit; however, one must not undervalue the role of competition in education.

The primary reason to endorse the statement is the influence of competition based education on the overall learning process. When students know that they must score certain grades to outdo others either to get admission into a top-tier university or a lucrative job, they tend to focus on exams rather than the process of leaning. Gone would be the days of discussions with Mathematics teacher about application of probability theory in sports gambling, with History teacher on overcoming public speaking anxieties and so on. Their only priority would be to learn certain important questions that are most likely to appear in the exams. When they know that they need to memorize from page 1 to 10 from a particular textbook to score an 'A' grade, even the standard syllabus is compromised, forget about out-of-box thinking and experimentation. Some even go to the extent of adopting unfair means such as seeking out leaked exam questions, copying assignments, cheating and what not. A student with an exam-oriented mindset can never achieve the quality of learning required to achieve the very goal of education.

The second reason to support the argument is the psychological damage that the pressure for competing for high-grades inflicts on students. With impossible deadlines to meet, numerous assignments to complete, a giant syllabus to cram and crunch time to prepare for the examination, a student can never obtain the level of motivation and mental freedom to explore the subject. Moreover, this put immense stress on students thus restraining their intellectual and mental abilities. There are several cases when unable to cope with the pressure and competition; students have taken drastic step of suicides. The unabated umber of suicides in the renowned Indian Institutes of Technology in recent years is a glaring example.

Another justification for the statement has do with the comprehensiveness of examination system in covering the entire scope of the subject. A 2-3 hour exam can only test students on certain topics and concepts. If students do score high grades, it can never be an assurance of their complete grasp of the subject and vice versa. Therefore exams and the competition for scoring high grades can never be the prompt for effective and broad learning at any level of education.

However, it would be unfair to completely disregard the role of competition in students’ learning process. Firstly, it motivates students to study at least some selective topics, which they might find useful in their next level of education or career later in life. It also provides a platform to gifted students to distinguish themselves from the ordinary multitude and get deserved accolades and scholarships. Therefore, a pragmatic way for educational institutes is to employ novel assessment pedagogy rather than completely doing away with the idea of competition among peers. Open books test, field projects, technical interviews etc. can be used as evaluation tools for grading students which would ensure that learning is encouraged and not impeded while reaping the rewards of healthy competition

In conclusion, while the competition for high grades does motivate and distinguished meritorious students, it places a ceiling on the learning effectiveness, mainly because of the rudimentary and rigid methods of students’ assessment. Employment of novel appraisal techniques as mentioned above would remove this ceiling without compromising with the benefits of competition at any level of education.