Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In our society a student’s intelligence and knowledge is mostly judged through his academic achievements and grades. So in order to get good grades sense of competition is induced among students from the beginning to encourage them. I agree with the statement that if sole goal of education is to get good grades then it effects the quality of education and learning.

I believe that grades should not be only criteria of student's knowledge. Good grades can be achieved by cramming the course and not getting the logical and deep knowledge of concept. If student spends a lot of time in learning and memorizing everything in the textbooks and less time in actually understanding the concepts, and their practical implementation he will definitely get good grades but not practical knowledge. For example to get good grades in literature subjects students tend to memorize essays and answers. Of course memorized essays get more marks than the ones written by students themselves because of its quality. So for board examinations parents and teachers encourage students to memorize things in order to get good grades and get admission in some good college and university. They have to do this because of the competition for college and university admissions. This limits their creativity and critical thinking ability.

Now talking about the university education which purely train its students for practical industrial knowledge, even there the bookish examination has more weightage. Students gets better opportunity of interview calls from industries if they have high grades in studies which forces the students to compete with their class fellows and stay in top 10% of class. So students tend to spend more time in reading and memorizing new concepts and less time in doing the project work and labs. Although it has less weightage and more importance. So in order to get good grades and stay in top of class, students focus less on lab work which is the best way to get hands on experience. Similarly some subjects especially the ones not related directly to degree, also takes a lot of time of students.

Apart from academic knowledge learning other skills like socialization, cooperation, participation in extracurricular activities is also part of education. If students spends a lot of time in academic education than no time will be left for extracurricular activities which are also important for personality development and are also part of education of all levels.

Some people might argue that grades are important for practical life and inducing sense of competition is the best way to motivate the students. If they do well in life and focus solely on studies today, than getting a financially stable life is highly probable. This is true but if we keep on educating our children with this mindset than we will only be producing quantity instead of quality individuals.

In short good criteria are not the sole representative of person's knowledge. The competition to achieve these grades for a financially successful life forces an individual to spend more time on learning and memorizing more and more concepts instead of spending time to get in depth knowledge. This effects the production of quality individuals who are experts of their fields.