Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

When it comes to critical judgment of work, as far as I am concerned ,I don’t think only the advice someone who is an expert in that field is worthwhile taking. The opinion from the public or the society is important as well.

Some might argue that only expert can involve in the discussion of the specific field. For example, designing new technological products need enough background knowledge to understand the work of machine so that the improvement or creation can be carried out. Surely, it seems too true to refute. However, what they neglect is that only the involvement from the expert is far way from being called “the success of a product”. The advice from the public can help the expert to perceive some aspect that they cannot know or they aren’t aware of. We continues the last example. Although the public doesn’t know the knowledge behind how the machine works, they can tell the designer about what kinds of the product they will prefer to buy. That is much more important than anything in order to make the product successful.

In addition, the involvement from the public can prevent the bias from the expert so that the work won’t lose its liability. For example, the establishment of the jury is try to prevent the judge from sentencing criminal unfairly. It is likely that the judge may not be fair once the criminal is his or her relative. Hence the functionality of jury can maintain the justice of the society and the fairness of the world.

From my point of view, though the idea from the expert is important, the public and the society also plays a important part in the success of the work because the work that the producer invents or carries out must be related to the public. Hence, it is reasonable that the opinion from the society surely counts.