Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

The issue that who is allowed to critic any piece of work in any field is controversial. Arguments can be made in both the sides. In my opinion, it is not fixed that whether only experts are allowed to critic any work or everyone,it largely depends on the field and significance of the work.

Everyone may not always be eligible to critic a work. In some field everyone may not have the depth of knowledge or expertise to comment on a piece of work. For example, a common man can not comment on a drawing made by a legendary artist. He is not expert or trained to understand the details such as strokes and use of colors or what the artist is trying to depict in drawing. An expert is required to understand such things. Such piece of work is mostly not be related to common people and his for a selected few.

On the other hand, there examples where anyone with a reasonable senses can understand and comment on some work. This works are not erudite and deal with common people. For example, a new gadget made by some company. Anyone can critic its usefulness and features. Also in such cases common people's opinion is most valuable. Most work that fits in this category is made for people or have to deal with people. Other examples include government policies or work of a leader.

However, in some cases work can be judged by anyone, but the depth of judgement by common people and an expert is different. For example, people can judge a sportsperson by his records and other statistics. But a veteran sportsperson of the same game can also understand the style of his game, what decision he makes during the game or his performance in critical situations. . A player may be revered by common people but experts may not like his game.

In the end, it is completely dependent on what work is to be judged and what field it belongs to. Common people may be eligible to critic it or may not or even judgement of common and experts may differ in significant manner.