"The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large. "

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations or reading.

Corporates and organizations are responsible for any nation's growth and development. With great power comes greater responsibility and that responsibility is towards the welfare of humankind and overall nation's welfare. Unfortunately these days, corporations are more inclined towards their profit margins, hence leaving the focus from human welfare altogether. I agree completely with the opinion stated in the above statement in lieu of the major 3 pointers that I will be discussing in this essay.

Firstly, the biggest market infected with this mindset is the food and beverages industry which includes all the major players in beverages, fast food chains and now even fresh vegetables and fruits. Companies like Coca-Cola and Pepsi are known for their soft drink market and the health hazards associated with them. There have been numerous researches which prove soda drinks are fatal to the heart's health and responsible for the increased type2 diabetes in most of the US youth. Both these companies are big players in their industry and we see very little efforts from both companies to change their strategy. Similarly, there are players like Maggie who got involved in a recent case of "LEAD excess" in their production - which was more than the permitted value - confirms the ill-effects on the health of the consumer. Furthermore, these companies spend a lot on marketing and tapping to consumers' desires to increase their sales whereas, proven otherwise, they know the adverse effects of consumption on health.

In addition to this, looking at the industry of supermarkets and food distribution, we can clearly see that single-use plastic is dominating the packaged food and fresh vegetables/ fruits markets. All big supermarkets contain packaged foods, even fresh fruits and vegetables are packed in single-use plastic. Enormous researches all over the world have shown how single-use plastic is impacting marine life and wildlife adversely. Non-biodegradable plastic wraps, plastic straws, and plastic papers end up in underwater life and disturb the livelihood of marine creatures. However, there are companies and organizations coming forward with alternate solutions in the form of recycling and non-plastic usage but until big players stop the production and replace single-use plastic with eco-friendly alternatives, the scenario at a global level is not going to change. Guess what is stopping them? The cost impacts and profit margins. Single-use plastic is way cheaper to produce and distribute in the market than the better alternatives, hence here as well we see the dominance of profits over national welfare.

It is interesting to look at a completely different industry which is production industry. Production mills and plants are the major sources of water and air pollution all across the world. Some countries like the Netherlands, Germany, Singapore have adopted means to recycle renewable energy and manage their waste in an efficient way but most of the nations fail at this. Not that we cannot replicate those solutions across the world, it is the big corporations who decide to give importance to these issues and develop eco-friendly solutions. Countries like Singapore have successfully been able to set up recycling plants that resulted in managing waste so efficiently that they have to import it from other countries. These nations thrive on the welfare of their people and mother nature which in turn makes them the pioneers in the emerging sustainable technological advancement.

To conclude, corporations and big organizations have the power to drive national growth and welfare in any direction and in a majority of the nations, it is imperative that they should start putting national welfare above the profits and revenues if we have to survive and thrive as humans on earth.