Do you agree or disagree with the following statement,

"People who make decisions based on emotion and justify them later are bad decision makers"

Emotions play a huge part in our day-to-day lives, our motivations, beliefs and in forming associations. Some people even dictate their actions based on these emotions. I agree with the statement that people who make decisions based on emotion and justify them with logic later are poor decision makers.

Crimes are often fuelled by emotions. Hate crimes, honour killings, crimes of passion, et cetera are generally the outcome of acting based on one's emotion without logically evaluating their action. Let's take for example a man who was recently divorced, in his heat of emotions, he decided to damage his ex wife's property. Even though in a calm state of mind, he might have never done so.

People in the society have a tendency to not see themselves as a villain or as a bad person. This effect can be seen when people who make bad decisions based on their emotions, justify it in whatever way possible. For example, a person, during a verbal fight, said things that she should not have said, might not want to feel guilty and thus justify her actions in her own mind. The same applies for people who might commit crimes and these justifications are what would make a person repeat those crimes and disable them from feeling guilt when they actually should.

Justifying emotions works well to calm ourselves but it doesn't change the situation or the outcome. The harm done won't change simply because we've justified it afterwards. A person who is hurt because of us, will not recover simply because we have justified our actions. Logically evaluating a decision thus holds importance. It allows people to evaluate whether a decision is reasonable and practical. Logical evaluations after an action make it biased towards justifying it.

Sometimes, logic might in fact be based on emotion. Even then, I feel one should take out the time to logically evaluate the situation as well. This is because logic brings us closer to decision making that allows for a better sense of understanding of the outcome of our actions.