Education systems should focus more on imparting practical skills than on teaching theoretical knowledge.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There has long since been debate about the focus of modern day educational systems teaching students practical skills versus theoretical knowledge. One school of thought champions the need of practical education such as construction, tailoring, cooking etc. Skills that are useful in everyday life. Whereas the the other, champions the need for theory because theoritical knowledge gives students the ability to apply what has been taught in the classroom to a range of different situations. I am of the opinion that both practical skills and theoretical knowledge are incredibly important in developing a well rounded individual who is capable of tackling lifes' unique challenges.

Scholars who champion the need for imparting practical skills invoke the saying " It is better to teach a man to fish rather than give him a fish, as a fish feeds him for only a day but the skills feeds for a lifetime." This is an apt argument for the need for practical skills however it fails to take into consideration other knowledge that is necessary to support a person. For instance, it is important that people understand the reasons behind techniques that they are leveraging and can tailor their needs in different situations. This is almost always best shown through theory. Borrowing the saying from above, you can teach a man to fish in fertile waters, under the best of circumstances but where tough times arrive, he is unable to fend for himself. This is where theoretical knowledge is important. It postulates different scenarios that a classroom setting even a practical skills one is not able to. Hence the need for both approaches.

Theoretical knowledge is also extremely important for non practical skills that people need as they grow. For instance, in my primary school we had a subjects like Moral Institution, Social Studies and World History that helped to explain the importance of values, community and the the world in ways that have helped immensely as I've grown older. The theory of these subjects helped to paint a broader world view that only practical education will not have been able to support. Imparting only practical skills could be detrimental to the education of students in the long run.

Practical knowledge is immensely important especially in todays world where it feels like people do more of talking than actual application/doing. However, completely switching the focus to only imparting practical skills is a dangerous road because theory such as Morals, Social Studies, History all contain information that is needed for a human to thrive