Educational Institute have the responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Educational Institute are places where one gets to explore a wide variety ofsubjects, get all the resources to learn them and specialise in them.In this ever changing industrial world we do not know what unpredictable changes can take place in our lives. Hence it is all the more important that the academic institutes encourage students to take part in various different courses and try to explore as much as possible. Event if one is not good at physics at present who knows he could be next Einstein.Hence, I strongly deprecate with given statement which emphasises on dissuading students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

The choice of the main field must be made on the student's ardent in the subject and not on what an institute thinks.Event if a student is scoring relatively less in a particular subject but have passion for it, it is highly probable that he will be more successful and more importantly happy pursuing that subject. Once the choice of main subject is made he should be allowed to explore other fields as well. For instance even after choosing a main field in engineering a student is taught about physics, chemistry , mechanics and many more subject in his first year of engineering. Another example is of chartered accountants. No doubt they are taught about tax and economies, but they are also persuaded to explore information technology courses as well.

Steve Jobs rightly said "we cannot connect the dots looking forward, but only looking backwards". He dropped out of the college and attended calligraphic classes. One can say that he should stop attending those classes because he is unlikely to succeed in it. But we can only connect the dots looking backwards. He mentioned that those calligraphic classes gave him the idea of introducing different writing styles in his products. Some times it is important that a student is taught many subjects event if he may fail in some. For instance consider a prince who must know combat, management and planning skills. Now he may not be perfect in all but he must know them all.Hence he can not be dissuaded from learning those fields he is unlikely to succeed.

Rather than dissuading students, educational Institute must provide all kinds of sources to learn non curriculum topics as well.There must be clubs for dances, music, sports, physical fitness and others.It is responsibility of the institute to organise events and workshops in fields that are not taught in the institute. For instance our college conducts many seminars on big data, nuclear physics, entrepreneurship and more. These lectures are attended by students of all engineering branches. Various competitions must be held so that students of one branches try out stuffs related to other branches.

Considering above aspects, a student must be allowed to choose a subject he is passionate about. He should be allowed to explore other streams and inter stream projects should be conducted. We do not know what opportunities our life is going to offer us.We should be ready to make full use of it.