Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Having the right to prevent some students from pursuing certain fields by universities and other educational institutions is contentious. Given the idea that only candidates can pursue specific fields especially based on efficient ways seems great, and I totally disagree with the statement that believes this may lead to the deterioration of the institutions.

First, we can clearly notice the big percentage of those who are not qualified based on numeric data, in my country, particularly in my field of study, less than 50% of graduates could pass the qualification examination conducted in our senior year. This makes a significant impact on the output of graduate’s future career which would affect the general economic system. This is directly associated with the success of the institution using this method of candidacy, because its international rank is, in fact, strongly based upon its academic output.

Second, controlling the enrollment process directs attitudes and capabilities towards enhancing the academic performance. In other words, institutions which open the doors for students to pursue the fields they want are less likely to focus on improving the strength of the curriculum offered to what is best to compete with the quality of students’ degree of knowledge. For example, the Architecture Department at the university I have studies at, started brand-new enrollment criteria for its prospective students by creating an examination to test their basic capabilities which make them real candidates for this field. This resulted in a huge advancement in the Department, because with more capable students, more ideas have started flowing to improve what is already being offered.

Some may argue that this limits the human free-well because it dissuades students from choosing what they believe they belong to, but in fact, prospective student do not necessarily know what is best for them, they choose some fields based on previous examples and experiences without knowing what really fits them. This can be denied by controlling the enrollment process objectively, rather than subjectively through setting qualifying examination system for each field of study. This would be for students’ own good as well.

To sum up, I strongly disagree with the statement which says institutions would have a negative effect when having the right to prevent students from entering fields they believe it is not proper for them, because with this criterium, more qualified graduates will arise, and stronger academic curriculum would be built.