Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your rea

Education is vital to succeed in today’s world whatever may be the career path we choose. In this regard, educational institutions have a responsibility of enabling students with the knowledge and the skills required to succeed in areas of their interest. I take issue with the argument that educational institutions should discourage students from from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed as this argument is inaccurate.

Firstly, teachers cannot gauge every student’s ability based on their limited interactions with them. Teachers, like the rest of us, are humans. They can only make an observation that a student is doing well or not doing well in some area. They cannot be sure that the student will fail at something in the future. There is every possibility that the student will become good at that at some point in the future. Thomas Alva Edison was deemed not fit to study at his school. He was later home-schooled by his mother and he went on to invent the light bulb. As teachers, it’s their responsibility, not to dissuade them from pursuing their interests, but to help them overcome the difficulties they face so that they can succeed.

Secondly, it is the right of every student to choose any career which interests them. Educational institutions should encourage free thinking. Great things come out of thinking without any inhibitions. The world would not be as developed as it is today if people had confined their thoughts and followed a conventional path. The Teslas and Googles of today are evidences for the amazing things that we can achieve by taking the road less traveled. So if Elon’s teacher had discouraged him from following his passion as the chances of succeeding are slim to none and had he agreed to do so, we would not have witnessed these fantastic developments in attempts to find the existence of habitable environment on Mars.

The definition of success is subjective. For some, it might mean leading a routine life with a house in the suburbs with minimal tensions and risks; for some it might be about power or money and for some others it might mean challenging what we know and doing something that’s never done before. None of these are wrong. However, students, at such an early stage in their lives, should not be discouraged from doing something that they might fail at. Educational institutions should make students realize that failure is not the end of the world but a stepping stone towards success.

Preaching that where there is a will, there is a way in the first hour and discouraging a student who wants to become the President of the nation in the next would be contradicting and wrong. It’s the responsibility of the educational institutions to encourage free thinking and equip the students with all they need to achieve their goals in life so that great things happen and that is how we evolve as humans.