Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Ability is of little importance without opportunity. Educational institutions play a crucial role in shaping any student’s life by providing these opportunities.

Rather than thwarting any single person’s chances, any institution should focus on bolstering the opportunities that is provided. These institutions should not hold the responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing what they want based on the term “success”. Definition of success, being very vague, differs from person to person. Gaining affluence through education can be a matter of pre-eminence for that knowledge. The decision made will not be constructive, if the perception of institution does not match with that of the student.

Furthermore, the results furnished by the institution’s method to extrapolate a student’s position may be counterfactual as there is a possibility that the initial opportunities received by the student may not be equitable enough and better resources may ameliorate his state. It is also observed that few students are comfortable with what they do and nearly master that field with much ease while others learn it the hard way. They work hard and reach the same position, but this requires time, effort and opportunities. Fathom the situation where one could have reached a finer level, in spite of being a mediocre in the beginning but the institution never gave him that chance.

Institution can, however, suggest a nonplussed student, the possible options he may seek. Here also, the decision of discouragement should not be made for the student, as how much effort one is ready to put in, can be determined only by the individual. Someone too prosaic in a subject may be high-spirited towards that particular subject only and dormant towards others.

Hence, if there is commencement of seizing one’s freedom for field selection based on educational institution’s deduction of success a jillion of worthy candidates may lose their chance of excelling themselves.