Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

One may argue that educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from getting involved to certain pursuing fields of study where they are unlikely to succeed. In some respects, it seems true that it might help people' life by giving appropriate recommendations. From my perspective, however, the claim should not be applied to our reality.

Admittedly, it is undeniable that dissuading students from pursuing fields in which they are unlikely to succeed is a reasonable choice to make. there are lots of examples that can be introduced in this respect, even including people just around us. one of my friend who are a soldier is rueful these days since only studied astrophysics instead of any other school work, when he was at adolescent time just because of the reason that it amused him. Later, he told me that he felt rueful to study such 'useless' field of study to succeed. By dissuading students like this, educational institutions might prevent those people who are rueful for their past. Also, dissuading students not to pursue such fields of study makes the development of the society and industry much faster. Since many students are dissuaded to pursue such fields, they would go for another field of study which is more likely to succeed.

Yet, this does not necessarily mean that educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from their pursuing fields, in which they are unlikely to succeed. First, there is nothing specifically mentioned about the meaning of 'educational institutions'. Dissuading students in elementary schools and that of high schools or universities are totally different. In respect of dissuading elementary school students, one might not exactly know their pursuing field of study, and pursuing field of study might change while the student grows. Also, it is nearly impossible to figure out the field of study that 'one is likely to succeed', since many people of these days do not have any idea about how the trend of industries or arts would change. For instance, in respect of a student who wants to study artificial intelligence, even two decades ago, there were lots of people who dissuade the student, while these days they are not present. because the mega trend of human society changes relentlessly, it should not be hastily consider a field as a field in which unlikely to succeed.

To sum up, while at first glance, educational institutions should persuade their students not to study their pursuing fields in which they are unlikely to succeed, it appears to be false. Thus, though recommendation of such might be beneficial in particular cases, while having a responsibility to dissuade such decision to all students might not help for both the society and individuals.