Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Deciding what to study is one of the most crucial and daunting things for a student. Many a time they get help to find their interest while other times they are made to take up the field which others think will be better for them. The prompt suggests that educational institutions should discourage students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed. However, this statement is unjust and I strongly assert that

it is a wrong thing to stop someone from following their interest for three main reasons.

Firstly, whether a student can be successful in a field can never be said for certain. The student might be bad at the subject now but can be good later on in life. For instance, let’s take example of one of the exemplary men in history Albert Einstein. When he was young, he was very poor in math and science and used to have below average results. He even had to drop out of school for the same reason. However, he pursued his interest and later in life he became outstanding in the same field and became one of the greatest scientists in history. Similarly, before being the owner of the greatest e-commerce company of the world, Jack Ma had failed many times in business ventures. He even was poor as a student and had failed many times in his school life. Had his teacher had a chance to decide his career, the teacher could have suggested against pursuing business and doing something easier instead. Then, we would not have gotten opportunity to witness such great innovation today. Hence, one cannot know when a person will take a U-turn in his life so, it is wrong for someone to say some other person to not follow his interest.

Secondly, pursuing one’s interest, even though he is not good in it can help the person discover his real field of interest or something he is really good at. For instance, suppose a student is really crazy about building houses but the student does not really know what the person wants to study. So, for the time being he studies civil engineering even though he is really bad at science. Later after a year into civil engineering he might have an epiphany and finally acknowledge that it is architecture that he really wants to pursue. After that he can pursue architecture. What is greater than that, greater than finding one’s actual passion. Had his teacher suggested him against taking civil engineering, he might never have found what he was born to be. Hence, one must not be stopped from following his interest, for the greater good.

Thirdly, following one’s passion gives satisfaction to the person and no one must be deprived of that. There are people would choose being mediocre and very satisfied over being really successful and unsatisfied. Also, success is a relative term and being unsatisfied is being unsuccessful for some people. So, for the sake of satisfaction from life, one must be let to choose whatever field he wants to pursue.

However, some might argue that students are naive and they do not know what they are doing and must be told what to study. Of course, in cases as such, when the students are unsure, they might take guidance but under no circumstances must a student be forced to give up hope on something that he really thinks might become his passion.