Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Many students have established an interest in certain fields of study, only after they enter university. However, science research may be involved for these freshmen. Many educational institutions thus will help these students to select a specific field in which they will get succeed. But does it make sense? There is not any general agreement. Basically, I agree with these institutions since they are helping these students and will be benefit to the speed of the science study. While to prevent students from choosing fields that cannot get visible accomplishment is so absolute.

First, there is no doubt that those students who have chosen a promising field are more likely to succeed. When they find a interested area, there will be more experienced professors and partners who can potently help them to realize their purpose. They will achieve their goals and get good reputations, leading to a better life degree even for students’ families. Moreover, this, that they select a easy way to succeed, will be beneficial not only to themselves, but also the industry of various science studies. These fields are more easily to get excellent students resources and filled with more vigorous blood. They are usually some vital fields which may be correlated with our daily life. Since these fields develop fast, we can live in a better life and make the full use of new results of science studies. For instance, the medical industry is transferred a huge amount of high-level students every year. Only because their diligent study and work, our health condition can be granted safely. These are attractive with the huge resources of research and materials of medical industry and suffer from the most strict practice. Then they will quickly be adept in work and be successful quickly. Indeed, it’s important that educational industries can lead them into some necessary fields and help them to get goals quickly.

However, should these industries always sway their students to choose a field as we discussed before? Absolutely not! Only studying in promising fields is really harmful, not only to these students themselves, but also the education and society. First, some students may be talented in particular fields and they might achieve what their pioneers never get. Even they may exceed their forebears and accomplish some history tough problems. So if the student are interested enough or gifted, there selection should be support. And also there had been a lot of innovations were discovered by young men and led a big impact on the world. Stephen Hawking, the founder of black hole ,when he pointed out this theory he was only a university student too. This field is not hot at that time, since the astronomy was so distant for normal person. But with the support of his professor and the leader of lab, he finally stated a lot of essential theory which significantly improved the modern astrophysics. Public had a better recoganization upon these distant matters and were edified by these great founds. This achievement is based on the investigation of his characteristics and talent. Finally, they made a good decision.

It is thus clear that this topic depends on the specific circumstances instead of being generalized. On the one hand, I indeed agree with those students who are effected by authorities and they are more likely to succeed and at the same time are willing to devote into it. On the other hand, I am more concerned whether educational institutes can provide appropriate recommendations to students who are particularly gifted and persistent on a goal, even though which may take their life long to concentrate on. Therefore, I support these students to choose their own fields independently.