Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Current world of advancement and technology would have been unfathomable even a devade ago and in this era of vast connectivity and rapid data procurement, this argument is but a fair one. I, for one, disagree with the argument and feel that even with the grey areas of the technology and its effect on humans it certainly does not impede or deteriorate human thinking process. it can be very intuitive to feel that if we give up on raw calculation tasks we will tend to get out of practice, or if we rely on it for storing necessary data then our memory deteriorate. but, our brain being a very dynamic organ is able to keep up with the changes in which it process information. always optimizing for the maximum output possible for a given task given the circumstances.

When we talk about our reliance on technology it is widespread and it has become so integral to us that talking about removing it is laughable. From, automated cloting lines to smartphones technology aids us in all kinds of ways. Main pattern being in it helping us do mundane repeated task like sawing or sewing or paining getting automated, or helping reduce out dependency on calculations, which was the reason of inception of computers.

these technologies aid us in growing rather than impeding our brain where we can learn and devote our time on ideas and tasks requiring higher cognitive power and abstraction that technology still cannot replicate. For example, researchers do not have to worry about simulating weather models anymore in complex numerical computation languages and can instead focus on coming up with better theory to explain and undrstand weather patterns. this helps us grow our resources and undserstanding and in no way does it effect our decision making. On the other heand we can always train out brain to learn these computations again if necessary.

another reason one might see the technology as destructive is that it interferes with our lifes on a scale we have never seen before. people's attention span are getting smaller than ever and are getting hooked to technology and use it as an escape from but that in no sense alter a human's capability for decision making but is a reflection to the destructive habit one can fall in which can be only partially attributed to technology but becomes a debate on ethincs and habits altogether.

memory is another aspect that technology affects for humans, but there has been multiple studies where they show how brain has evolved to make a co-existence with these technologies for faster data procurement where instead of raw data the brain remembers the refrences to the source of the data. this, can act as an auxiallary memory and knowledge bank to our brain making us much more capable than ever. Obviusly there are a few downsides to it, for example not being able to remember the contacts or even names of people but that does not have any consequence to decision making unless it is based on data which is not readily available.

In conclusion, I would say beside some on the falling points of over dependence on technology it has potential to make us more than our brain is capable of and moving ahead if we are better able to help ourself with using it effectively, the more we can benefit from it. technology is a very integral part of our lives and instead of deteriorating our decision making thought process it helps us by providing us better resources from everywhere and faster computation than ever.