Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

The issue of whether or not educational institutions have an accountability to forbid students to pursue field in which they will not get success is a contentious one. While each side has its strengths and weakness, I believe, it is not the responsibility of educational institution because institution typically consider performance as a major factor and judge students according to their marks.

Primarily, marks are only a “number” and on the basis of number, one cannot decide the future of students and cannot stop them to pursue in a particular field. There are many people who have not only proved erroneous to their teachers, but also, became inspiration of many other people. For an example, according to the teachers of Albert Einstein, he could not get the success in the field of study which proved fallacious, when he emerged as a great scientist by proving the theory of relativity.

Some may argue that many students are not enough capable to take correct decision, and teacher can guide them to follow the right track on the basis of their knowledge and experience. But, what is the surety that their knowledge and experience will worth for students? For an example, Thomas Edison teacher said that he was “too stupid to learn anything”, and later he went to carve out of his spot as one of history’s most important inventors. This Example state that knowledge and experience of teacher didn’t work at all.

In conclusion, educational institution should not dissuade students to follow their dream because their suggestion can prove beneficial for one, while it can be the destructive for other which means that decision cannot be made out on the basis of possibilities.