Educators should base their assessment of students' learning not on students' grasp of facts but on the ability to explain the ideas, trends, and concepts that those facts illustrate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Assessments and evaluation of students in paramount in schools and colleges. It provides information to teachers or educators whether students understood the concepts that were taught in schools or colleges. Here, the author contends that students should be evaluated by their understanding of concepts/facts rather than applications those facts bring upon. In my opinion, I partially agree with the author’s conclusion for the following reasons.

To begin with, students start their elementary school by learning facts. They don’t have the maturity to think deeply and hence educators should focus students on assessing facts. For example, social science is filled with facts about wars and historical events. Students should be tested on how well they can grasp the facts and memorize them.

Also, after their elementary school, students enter college where they study convoluted topics. In this stage, students should be evaluated on then insight of ideas, trends and concepts. In case of social science, instead of learning “what, when and where”, students should learn “why” the event took place. For example, in India, Gandhi played a great role in fighting for Independence. In his fight, he protested against the British colonies but why? It is because of the fact that the British used Indians as slaves. Gandhi wanted to admonish slavery in India so he took part in the Non-violence moment. Thus, students should be evaluated based on ideas after attaining a maturity in their field of study.

However, this is not the case for all fields of study. Take, for example, subjects like maths, physics and chemistry are filled with facts that are permanent and cannot be changed. Thus, only facts can be assessed in some fields.

In conclusion, educators should consider the students maturity and accordingly conduct assessments. It also differs based on the specialised subjects that the students want to pursue.