Educators should base their assessment of students’ learning not on students’ grasp of facts but on the ability to explain the ideas, trends, and concepts that those facts illustrate.

The above statement states that educators should assess the students’learning on the basis of ideas, trends, and concepts of the facts i.e not on the grasping capability of students. I agree with this statement as real aspects of learning is its applications and how it contributes in our life.

Grasping of facts is one aspect and understanding the concepts is another. Take an example: In chemistry, corrosion of metals occurs when iron reacts with water in presence of oxygen. There are certain properties of metals such as its reactivity with water, properties, valency, etc. which one will grasp for the sake of getting marks. A student remembering all those properties might excel in exam but he might not be aware why his cycle’s metal frame was deteriorated. This explains why applied learning is helpful.

Further, including certain co-curricular activities such as elocution competition, science fair, student campaigns. might help students to better understand the concepts. This statement can be exemplified as: In a science fair, many students create different projects, models, etc. by taking help of theories they learn and getting ideas through internet. Similarly, in elocution competition, students are given topic related to their subjects and they have express their ideas. Hence, only those students whose ideas and concepts are clearer will excel in class and also many other students get benefited by undertaking such activities. Assessment of this activities must also account for the final grades and in this manner, the grading would be rational.

Assessing student’s learning should not completely be dependent on the practical aspects only i.e explaining ideas and concepts. It should not be at the cost of theoretical examination. If the final examination is not taken into account for grading, one might not give much importance to the facts and theories they have been taught and might be unattentive during the class. Moreover, not all facts are having a fundamental examination, some are derived without logical proof. For an example: In physics one might be aware concepts of quantum physics and how it is being used in QLED television. But he might not know the behavior of quantum particles. Considering this aspect, theoretical exam which assess the students’ grasp of facts must also be taken into account.

Finally, there must be a balance between theoretical knowledge as well as practical knowledge. Assessment based on grasping of facts and understanding of those facts must be equivalent. Grasping of facts is necessary for minute details and proofs whereas understanding those facts is necessary for practical applications.