Educators should teach facts only after their students have studied the ideas, trends, and concepts that help explain those facts.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The author suggests an educational recommendation, according to which students should be introduced to facts only after learning concepts or ideas, that explain those facts. In what follows I will argue that, while this recommendation involves positive aspects, such as an easier understanding of facts, it implies negative consequences. Among the others is the risk of a biased and passive education.

At first glance, the author’s recommendation seems convincing. Some people might support this idea by arguing that the complexity of facts requires a preceeding introduction of concepts that explain those facts. Consider, for example, human history. How could students effectively learn about this set of events, which can seem unrelated to each other? After all, what is the relationship between the Greek polis and the current political system? If the teachers first explains what is a democracy, it will be easy for students to relate the ancient Greek city-states to current America’s government by referring to the characterises of a democracy.

However, there are several difficulties. First of all, in history preserving the difference between two events occurring in two distant periods is crucial. There are significant differences between the democracy in Greece and in the United States: for example, in Greece less than one third of people have the right to vote; unlike the United States, in Greece there was slavery and all the power was in the hands of men. Second, there is the risk of teaching a biased history. If teachers first lecture about certain ideas and then mention facts explained by these ideas, there is the risk that students interpret these facts through the lens of those ideas. Such a lens could lead students to a strong misunderstanding of events. A third problem is that the creativity of students is not promoted. If students learn concepts explaining certain facts, they will be incapable of producing explanation by themselves. This will be a negative problem, since one of the main aims of the education will be not reached: developing a critical faculty.

It would be better if students studied ideas only after knowing facts. Of course, this is not an easy way to deal with a matter. However, misunderstanding of events is avoided and preserving the differences between facts is fostered. In addition, leaving students making their own interprations, despite their likely incorrectness, permits them to be mentally autonomous: an aspect that all people who follow an educational path should own.