this essay topic was given in Manhattan 5lb book for GRE. That's why I attempted it. It would be great If you can grade it. The question says write a response in which you discuss to which extent you agree or disagree with the claim.

Claim: Luck plays more of a role in determining success than work ethics does.

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether the luck plays more role in determining success or the work ethics.

Indisputably the luck plays an important role in determining the outcome in whatever one does. Nevertheless, work ethic plays major and determining role in success as work ethic can make you try harder for every work you do but if one becomes fatalist then he or she will always remain dependent on the luck. Thus I generally disagree with the opinion that that luck is determining factor in the attainment of the success and would argue that it plays the major role in someone's life accomplishments.

First of all, to get success in life, there are numerous things.I would like to point out that perseverance is the must ingredient of success.

To illustrate this, let us take the example of SpaceX's trying to launch their rockets, they got success in their third try, maybe we can say that luck played major role but it is their perseverance and hard work to try the third time in the row.In this circumstance, obviously, If they had lost their motivation and reduced their efforts in their work. There would have been no success in their work. Consequently, it is pretty much obvious that in the above example work ethic played the major role in the success than just luck.

Furthermore, we can see many individuals failing even after putting everything they can to get success in their field.

Specifically, I would like to take the example of a sportsman, they practice each and every day. But sometimes on the day of the performance, they cannot perform or do their best in competitions. Both common sense and past experience have told us that if they give up or reduce their quality of work ethics than they will get nothing in the future too. Hence all the evidence above demonstrates that it is the efforts we put in not just the luck that matters in getting the things we want in our life.

Admittedly, if there is no luck on your side, no matter what you do you will fail, in whatever you do in your life. This is true, especially when one is being a fatalist, and running their race on luck only. In addition, to this, it is often said that "success is when luck meets hard work". However, all the above arguments do not constitute to support the evidence to claim that luck is the only major factor to determine the success.

In conclusion, being dependent on luck for success would not be success formula but hard work and consistency is.

As long some other measurements and some other areas are involved luck will always be behind the work ethic in terms of which success can be attained. In fact, work ethics can do the work in this world which someone dependent on luck only can't do