Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to

address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A society is a group of people staying together and sharing their lives with each other. To manage the people, it is necessary that a society is headed by a central authority which will run the society. This central authority can be chosen by various ways decided by the people of society. In order to govern the society, the central authority makes some rules and regulations to be followed by its people for a proper functioning of the society. As we know different people have different perceptions and ways to run a society or to do a job, so it is very obvious that an individual may have different ideas about the laws created by the society. I think that each and every individual of a society must follow and obey the laws created for them, even if the laws are unjust according to them.

The disobidience of the laws, made by the central authority, by any person will disturb the equilibrium of the society. It will bring about chaos and will also disturb the order in the society. Hence, people should follow with complete trust.

For a smooth functioning of a society and for peace to be maintained, abiding the laws is mandatory. If that is not done, it will create conflicts, misunderstandings, rebellions, which might lead to violence and hatred at extreme levels. This defeats the purpose of the smooth governance. For example, a law has been put into place in some developing countries, which allows some reservations to the students of poor or underpriviledged families at the college admissions. A deserving general category student feels it is unjust that their admission seat goes to an underpriviledged but less deserving student. But, he/she should still follow and respect that because the law-makers have made these laws upon some basis, like lack to education accessibility to underpriviledged students.

Another example, standing in queue for your turn seems precious time waste, but follow it still to maintain the order.

There are other ways to reach out to the authorities to request for a slight change in the law which a person feels is unjust. One should try those ways out, rather than disobeying the laws.

To conclude, the laws have been made for the betterment of the general public in the society and so should be followed and abided by all for a smooth functioning.