Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The rule of law is an important pillar of modern society. I fundamentally agree that just laws should always be followed to maintain social order, while in terms of unjust laws, people should try to resist and reform them within the legal framework. Although there is no unanimous definition of “just laws” and “unjust laws”, I personally, in this essay, consider the former to be laws agreed by the majority of rational individuals and has an intended purpose to maintain stability and prosperity of the society, and the latter to be laws disagreed by majority and are meant to harm the society as a whole.

First, people need to strictly abide by the just laws to ensure orderliness of the society, and consequently benefit each of us. Take the simple examples of the traffic laws about drunk driving. In almost every country, it is illegal to do so and anyone violates it might be fined or jailed. This is because when a driver is drunk, he would not be able to operate a vehicle appropriately and therefore threaten the safety of himself as well as others sharing the road. To protect the interest of everyone who is likely to be involved, the laws prohibit such behaviors and no one should challenge or disobey just laws like this.

On the other hand, some laws are based on stereotype or discrimination of some groups of people and are inherently unfair. For example, laws of some countries never consider the well-being of women. According to no. 308 in Jordanian criminal laws, rapist can be exonerated if he wants to marry the victim. Otherwise, killed by her brother or father to protect the reputation of the family. Women in some Islamic countries have very little freedom as they are not treated equally compared to the men, more egregiously, those women who breach the laws are inflicted various punishments. If they submissively accept these baseless restrictions, then their life would become even more miserable. Therefore, the women there, as well as every conscious individual, should put an effort to protest against these biased rules.

Some people may challenge my position by asking about the controversial laws fall outside the scope of just and unjust. Is homosexual sinful? What is wrong with abortion? Why is racism bad? Admittedly, arguable laws of this kind arise inexorably in almost any legal system. The abortion debate in the US is a compelling example. Christian groups condemn the practice of abortion, regarding it as murder of fetus; feminists, on the other hand, consider the matter as fundamental to a woman’s right to control her own body. Such problems are paradoxical in their nature – as different people hold different views from various aspects on a problem, but debate over them can always push the reform of the laws as well as the legal system.

In the final analysis, although it is sometimes hard to draw a clear line between just laws and unjust laws, most people would naturally adhere to just laws to keep the society in good order and respond with outrage to unjust laws which violate the common moral standards. For the laws related to controversial issues, we can continuously reform the legal system to make them more acceptable for the majority.