Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.
In civilized society, there are rules, regulations, and laws that people are expected to abide by in order to function in an organized and civil manner.
These laws and regulations are however created by other humans and they are prone to be biased or unfair and unjust.
Therefore, as individuals and as part of a society, it becomes our responsibility to be aware of these laws and regulations and to not follow them blindly.
If they are just and fair laws, there should be no quarrel about abiding by them. However, if they are biased or discriminatory of a certain group, individuals of a society should protest
against these laws and seek to reform them. If that means to not follow these unfair laws, then that is all the more reason to get rid of them.
Unjust laws would be laws targeted at minority groups or that which do not fairly apply to all individuals living in a society. Laws that seek to punish those for their religious beliefs,
their gender, sexual orientation, or their race should be abolished. An example would be the law in the United States that LGBTQ individuals cannot be married while heterosexual individuals
can. Recently, this law has been remedied and abolished in a fair number of states and gay marriage has become legalized however at a certain period of time it was not. This type of law was
only applicable to the minority of people who identified as queer and who wanted to get married and therefore, it is a discriminatory law. It was unfair to a minority group and because of it,
people were denied the ability to get married because of their sexual orientation. With enough protests, getting married in other countries where gay marriage was legalized, and constant
awareness of the need to legalize gay marriage, the law has been overturned in many states and around the world. It makes a different to disobey and protest an unjust law.
People may argue that only disobeying an unfair law will make little difference and that may very well be true. In addition to civil disobedience, people can protest, can elect politicians
and effective lawmakers to major bodies of government that can help to push along a change or abolish unfair laws. Disobedience by itself might not make a significant change. However, it is a
start to recognize the unfairness of a law.
Overall, laws are rules and regulations created by people to govern large bodies of people and oftentimes they can be helpful and serve justice to those who truly deserve it. Othertimes,
these laws can cause more harm than good and it is the people's responsibility to recognize and make aware lawmakers and the government to the unfairness of these laws so that a positive
change can be made.