Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure

Many would argue that the existence of established laws makes the society a safer and more stable place to live in as they not only ensure human rights but also deters atrocious behavior through punishment. However, the issue of whether everyone should obey all laws has been hotly debated, as certain laws that are considered unjust are bound to coexist with just ones. However, to state that everyone should comply with just laws and fight against unjust ones is to oversimplify the role law and justice plays in human society. I agree that each individual should resist unjust laws; however, I also contend that whether one should conform to just laws depends on whether the law is consistent with one’s own moral judgment.

Before diving into a discussion of the statement, an issue needs to be solved regarding the definition of “just” and “unjust.” First of all, while many do not recognize, any judgment of justice is subjective. Were the Nuremberg Laws in 1935 that authorized the arrests of and violence against Jews just? It seems that people in today’s society would unanimously argue against it. However, to many Nazi soldiers in the war who firmly believed in the inferiority of the Jews, it was perfectly just. Each individual has his or her own belief about whether a law is just or unjust. The question then comes to whether the “just” and “unjust” in the statement refers to individual thinking or the judgment on which the major part of the society agrees. For the sake of argument, this essay will assume that such evaluation refers to the contemporary mass consciousness instead of individual concerns.

The statement is problematic because laws that are considered morally sound by the majority of people could turn out to be the opposite, as history has proven again and again. Returning to the example of the Nuremberg Laws, despite that many in the Nazi regime genuinely believed in the righteousness of the laws, many others were forced by these laws to fight in a war that was against their moral principle. Should they have obeyed the laws that are deemed right by the majority? My opinion is that each individual has the freedom to act according to his or her own conviction, even when such action would involve a violation of established laws. In fact, historical records show us that many in the past have done so, and quite successfully. Take the story of the famous American boxer Muhammad Ali for example. In 1967, Ali refused to go to the Vietnam war for his country at the height of war. He not only nearly went to jail, as any refusal to serve was considered a felony, his boxing activities were also banned for three years, costing him the prime of his life. Though initially criticized for his unwillingness to serve the country, his famous quote, “My conscience won’t let me go shoot my brother, or some darker people, or some poor hungry people in the mud for big powerful America,” later stirred up national sentiment against U.S.’s decision to go to war.

While some would argue in favor of obeying laws, citing that conforming to established regulations would help ensure the stability of the society, what would be the good of staying in a society controlled by authoritarian rule? Such stability would only be a self-delusion, pretending that obeying the laws is what one has to do and denying individual volition to behave according to one’s own moral principle. Statistics have shown us that it only takes 3% of the population to overthrow a government, but the miracle would never happen if no one acts.

In conclusion, instead of acting according to the moral judgment of society, every individual should assume the responsibility of doing what they believe is right and fighting against what they consider unjust, regardless of established laws. That is how human society evolves. Ultimately, in a perfectly civilized society, it should not be laws but people’s own moral beliefs that constrain their behavior.