The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

Self-knowledge is a trait that is touted to be the superior of all the traits that embody us. More often than not, it has been claimed to be in direct connection with God. Although, self-knowledge can be esoteric to many and may seem unachievable, there are many in the world who advocate that practising self-renunciation and seeking divine knowledge should be a person's end goal. A romanticized version embracing and seeking your capabilities, this idea definitely has ramifications in the lives of humans since times immemorial. However, to attain this knowledge of self, the role of the rejection of familiar is debatable and often depends on the perspective.

Sages in ancient Indian scriptures are well-known to have powers such as telepathy and telekinesis through which they were able to possess infinite knowledge and infinite wisdom. Their preachings often exude the message that these powers have been attained through self-knowledge and one must renounce their worldly pleasures and do 'tapas'(a form of very hard meditation) for years to achieve this feat. If these scriptures were believed to be true, 'tapas' is a form of rejecting everything we ever knew, and even rejecting our body and therefore acquiring self-knowledge does require the rejection of the familiar.

Also, there is a theory in Philosophy which propounds that only the self is real and everything else is illusory and perceived. According to this theory, we must reject everything which our own brain make us see, touch, smell and hear. Now the question remains that if we are alone and everything else is intangible, then who am I and what is my purpose, which directly implies self-knowledge.

One could contend that in a fast moving world it is often imprudent to think of self-knowledge as a way to achieve divineness. However, a parallel could be drawn between self-knowledge and realizing ones capabilities. Maybe a student is very weak in Math and everyone around him including his teachers and parents believes that he couldn't earn a honest livelihood. However, he went on to become a world renowned artist. There are plethora of examples and success stories in the world involving people who have failed only to realize their true capabilities and gifts they are endowed with. We can't directly negate that these people have rejected the familiar but we can asser that they accepted the familiar but rejected the conclusions that are implied by them.

It has been an open question even since the pre-historic men as to what the purpose of humans on earth. It even led to us searching for life on other planets. However, this remained a question with no precise answers in sight. Rejection of the known principles has been touted to be empowering for the ancients but it is not prudent in the today's world and therefore humans should adapt the principles they read from their ancients to chalk their own path.