The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist. “Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

There are many problems with Dr. Karp’s article on Dr. Field’s observation-centered studies of the child-rearing traditions in Tertia.

Dr. Karp refutes Dr. Field’s conclusion that children in Tertia are reared by an entire village based on an observation the children from islands near Tertia “spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village.” There are several assumptions intrinsic to the preceding statement. First, Dr. Karp assumes that the child-rearing traditions in the islands near Tertia also apply to Tertia. It is possible that each island has distinct child-rearing traditions. A study of each island would be necessary to establish the overall child-rearing traditions. Second, Dr. Karp assumes that frequency with which the children speak about their biological parents indicates that they were raised primarily by their parents and not but other adults in the village. It is possible that despite being raised by many different adults, the children still maintain a stronger connection to their biological parents, and therefore speak about the more often.

Dr. Karp then goes on to state that this “research of mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid.” As was mentioned above, Dr. Karp would need stronger evidence that children in Tertia were raised primarily by their biological parents to make this claim. Furthermore, the sample size of children interviewed by Dr. Karp would have to be large to draw overarching conclusions about Tertian village culture. It is possible that Dr. Karp interviewed outlier children who were raised by their biological parents, but that most children were raised by the village.

Dr. Karp expands on the critique of Dr. Field’s conclusions by stating that “the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well.” This statement implies that the failing of one study (Dr. Field’s) should be applied to the observation-centered approach as a whole. If Dr. Karp’s assessment of Dr. Field’s research turned out to be true, it is still possible that the observation-centered approach is a valid one. Perhaps Dr. Field did not use a large enough sample size. Before drawing conclusion about the entire observation-centered approach a meta-evaluation of many studies in the field using this approach would need to be performed.

Finally, Dr. Karp states that the results of their studies in Tertia will establish a more accurate understating of child-rearing traditions in other island cultures. This statement assumes that child-rearing traditions are uniform across island cultures. It is possible that the results Dr. Karp gathers in Tertia are not applicable to other island cultures. To make conclusions that apply to island cultures in general, Dr. Karp would need to study many more island cultures than just those in the group of islands that includes Tertia.