The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits further."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The owner presumes that limiting the maximal water flow to a third of the current level would increase the firm's profit. However, he needs to examine the potential profits and the costs of introducing the scheme, before reaching the conclusion.

First of all, he needs to examine if introducing the maximal cap in water flow will actually reduce water usage. By definition, water usage is the product of water flow and time, and what he targets is not what he intends to limit. Since actual readings of water usage is not yet available, he doesn’t have empirical evidence either. It is possible that with limited maximal flow, the building residents would just use water longer, keeping the overall usage the same.

Also, in the letter there is insufficient evidence that the reduction in water usage will lead to significant savings in the bill, because there is no breakdown of the water bill. It is possible that water bill remains almost constant regardless of the usage, or changes very little. In this case, he may succeed in saving water, he would not save money.

In the letter he fails to consider the costs of introducing the scheme. One immediate cost is changing all the showerheads in the remaining 9 buildings. This requires purchasing new equipments and employing, most likely, external service from an interior designing firm. The projected profit must definitely outweigh this cost if the limit were to be placed.

Additionally, he should consider the implicit cost: mainly the resident complaint. If a large number of residents experience notable inconvenience, they may choose to leave the building, decreasing the firm's profit. He mentioned that he had so far received only few complaints regarding low water pressure, but this does not reflect the prospect of resident view when the scheme is fully employed. One, obviously only the first three buildings were tested and second, it's been only a month.

Therefore, I believe the conclusion was hastily drawn before pros and cons were fully examined.