The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the written letter to the scientific journal editor, an argument about the level of stimulation and Cortisol produced in monkeys and humans has been elaborated. In the letter, the only factors affecting stimulus and production of Cortisol are “Birth Order” and “the number of pregnancies”. It is said that whether in humans or monkeys, first-born children and first-time mothers in stimulating situations produce more Cortisol. The argument mentioned above has some weaknesses and does not have cogent reasons to persuade us to accept the idea of the writer.

At the first glance, the writer has only brought 18 samples of monkeys to check the argument. Also, there is no figure for the samples of humans compared with monkeys. Is the number of samples enough for such research? Are the number of monkeys and humans equal? Have the samples similar features? Are the samples compatible with each other? Are they comparable? The letter had been more valid if the writer would have used clear samples.

The factors considered in the letter are born order and pregnancy time. We have to see whether or not other factors, such as sex, age and the surrounding areas affect the stimulation and level of cortisol production. If these factors have a significant impact, the argument of the writer will be strongly weakened. Also, the writer has not mentioned why he only considered firstborn children and first-time mothers. According to letter we only can guess the dominant factor which can lead to increased cortisol production is the first encounter in a stimulating situation. Even the writer has not mentioned this point whether or not this is the main factor.

Additionally, the writer has not explained whether or not the test has been done in an isolated area. If the samples have not been put in a controlled environment, the overall conclusion has been questioned. Different items, including light, sound, the existence of other partners and even emotional factors can affect the results of the test. The argument had been more compelling if the writer would have pointed out the conditions of the test.

In the test, humans are compared with monkeys, and the writer says that “Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence).” According to what reasons humans and monkeys have been compared? Have they the same features? Are they physically and biologically comparable? Is this comparison fundamentally correct? How many humans have been checked? This part of the letter is full of ambiguities, and there is only a concise explanation to fill the letter.

In conclusion, the argument mentioned above is weak, and the writer needs to review the letter again to correct the weak points.