The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station Over the past year our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news During this period most of the complaints re

The decision to restore previous time allocations of weather and local news on the television program requires additional information. As it stands, the station manager's argument is based on assumptions regarding causation and ignores the question of prior norms.

First, the station manager reports that most of the viewer complaints over the past year express concern over the coverage of weather and local news, but this fails to consider what viewers complained about prior to the shift toward national news coverage. The manager should compare complaints received from both time periods since it is possible that most viewer complaints have always focused on weather and local news.

Regarding the issue of local businesses canceling their advertising contracts, many questions remain unanswered. The television station manager assumes that these cancelations are due to the decrease in local news coverage, but there may be other factors influencing local businesses' decisions. Perhaps other changes simultaneously occured, such as an increase in advertising prices or a decrease in the time allotted per advertisement. Additionally, the station manager should address whether total advertising revenue, rather then simply locally generated revenue, has even actually declined. It is possible that national businesses are increasing their advertising, replacing any revenue lost for local businesses.

If this is the case, it may be because the viewership demographic has shifted rather than declined. A decrease in local viewership may not be a concern if there has been an increase in total viewership from other regions.

The television station manager could strengthen their argument to restore time devoted to weather and local news to former levels by addressing these questions. In order to justify their decision, they would need to prove that viewer complaints regarding weather and local news have actually increased, total viewership numbers have actually declined, total advertising revenue has likewise declined, and no other alterations in station policies could account for such changes. Without such evidence, their decision stands on weak ground.