The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview It is time for the city of Grandview to stop funding the Grandview Symphony Orchestra It is true that the symphony struggled financially for many years but last year priva

In his memo, the Grandview budget planner asserts that the city ought to cease funding the Grandview Symphony Orchestra. He rationalizes his position by citing increases in symphony funds from alternative sources, arguing that the symphony no longer requires financial support from the city of Grandview. While it is feasible that his assumption might ultimately prove sound, he should address three questions in order to bolster the validity of his argument and convince the city to adopt his recommendation.

First, the budget planner should address a question regarding the increase in private contributions to the symphony last year: can the Grandview Symphony Orchestra rely on that financial support in future years as a regular contribution, or was last year's private contribution amount an anomly? Perhaps a local supporter of the arts died last year, leaving the local symphony with a sizable sum in his will. Or maybe the Grandview Symphony Orchestra's fundraising manager was particularly successfull last year, but is planning to retire next year. In either such instance, the symphony cannot assume that it will receive similar levels of private donations in future years. If this is the case, then the budget planner's proposal as stated in his memo rests upon shaky ground.

Additionally, the author of the memo should answer whether or not last year's concerts-in-the-park series attendence provided the Grandview Symphony Orchestra with a significant source of revenue which it can expect to maintain in future years. If, for instance, the performance series was actually sponsered by the city of Grandview as free-to-the-public events, that would explain why attendence doubled; it would not, however, equate to a decreased need for municipal funding on the part of the symphony.

Furthermore, the memo's writer needs to provide more information regarding the increase in symphony ticket prices scheduled for next year. Is the Grandview Symphony Orchestra increasing prices merely enough to keep pace with inflation, or is it raising prices significantly beyond that amount? And is there any evidence to support that ticket sales will maintain consistent levels despite the increase in prices? If prices are not increased beyond the rate of inflation, or if ticket sales actually plummet due to price hikes, then the price increase scheduled for next year may not actually result in a decreased need for funding from the city as the budget planner claims.

To conclude, while Grandview's budget planner might be wise in suggesting that the city desist financial support of the Grandview Symphony Orchestra moving forward, his argument as it stands now remains weak due to unanswered questions. If the budget planner wishes to enhance the persuasiveness of his argument, he should address the three questions outlined above.