The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Whether or not Humana University should follow the footsteps of Omni Univerisity to increase student enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits is the main question here. Though Omni University has made progress in saving the cost of maintaining buildings, there is no solid evidence if it is due to the online enrollment of students in the past year.

First of all, the president of Humana University only presented the fact that the online enrollment of Omni University has increased by 50 percent. There is no indication about the students who enrolled in the university for an offline degree whether it has increased or decreased last year . May be, offline enrollment decreased by a significant amount for that the expenditure for dormitory and classroom space has decreased. Less the number of students who enrolled in an offline degree, less the expenditure for the dormitory and class space. Moreover, maybe the number of local students who enrolled in the offline program is more than the number of students who came from outside the area. Local students tend to live in their own houses and attend classes from there. This could also be the reason for decreased expenditure for the dormitory .

Secondly, the president of Omni University has not considered the rise in the cost of internet service as well as other materials needed for offering an online degree. Will the number of students of Humana University enrolled in an online program be enough to bear the cost? Whether or not the number of online students in Omni University is sufficient enough for bearing the cost is not being evaluated here. If the number of enrolled students in the online program is not enough for the cost as well as the advertisement cost, this kind of step will do no good.

Thirdly, the president has not mentioned about the students'view enrolled in the online program last year. Whether their review is good enough or not should be the prime concern before kind of decision. Maybe there are some students who are not satisfied with the online program and wish to shift to the offline program or there are some courses that need the physical presence of the students on the campus. Like if an engineering student takes a course that requires him to conduct some experiments in real life, is it possible to make the whole program based on online learning? After assuring all these things, will the building and class space maintenance cost be saved?

The president of Humana University should keep in mind all the dubious questions before taking the step of promoting the online degree program.