Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Education is the backbone of any society to prosper and maintain a sustainable development. it has the power to grant one the basic needs of living like - food, shelter and clothing and contribute to the development of the country. Indeed, many problems existing across the world can be solved, if formal education is made compulsory across the world. formal education has become a prerequisite if anyone needs to succeed in life. it kindles our spirits in an orderly manner and encourages us to reach great heights. it serves as the right platform for the children to bring out their talents. Whether formal education restrains our minds and minds rather than set them free, is a contentious issue. A stand on this issue can be taken, only after a scrupulous analysis.

Whenever a formal education is designed by the government and the academicians associated with it, one important key factor which is addressed is how to coalesce the members of the society into one properly functioning body. The opponents to my viewpoint may insist that formal education can expand people’s knowledge equally. even though students are poor, they can take a certain level of education. Moreover, if they seek to study further, they can take upper-level education by receiving a scholarship. it is definitely true that everyone can take public education with the little amount of money; however, acquiring knowledge does not guarantee formal education would set our minds and spirits free. Let us clarify this point by using several point of views.

First, public educations are usually censored by governments; therefore, students often fail to acquire comprehensive knowledge. most chinese students do not recognize China as a capitalism country but a socialism country due to chinese public education. japanese students tend to lack japanese negative historical part, especially after the beginning of world war second. Korean students have learned distorted historical facts about the invasion by Japan during world war second. hence, it is obvious that governments control public educations.

second, public educations are score centered education. students need to take a lot of exams to pursue their education. students need to take SAT and ACT to enter undergraduate school. GRE or GMAT are mandatory for most students who seek further study in graduate schools. Addition to these standardized tests, students need to pass mid-term and final exams to pursue their higher grades. Not only the education in the United States, but also other countries’ education are exam centered. For instance, japanese students also have mid-term and final exams and need to take several distinct standardized tests to enter even junior high school. students recognize their academic achievement by their scores by following public education. hence, public education would provide the education for exams, not for “think out of the box”.

We are at an era, in which information can be verified scientifically and with proper rational, thus allowing us to be restrained more logically than before with a formal education. therefore, formal education is absolutely necessary to keep a society from falling apart into ideological factions, while encouraging free-thinking within limits justified by the proper course of human development. I strongly assert that formal education would restrain students’ minds and spirits because this education is biased by government and students would concentrate on only exams. Some people may challenge to this idea by referring to the opportunity of acquiring knowledge; nevertheless, knowing does not guarantee the free spirits and minds.