Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and s

Albert Einstein once said “Everybody is a genius but if you judge a fish by its ability to swim it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid.” The formal educational system is given to every child in the same way regardless of the fact that we are different ,hence that is why I mostly agree with the above statement. This essay will comprise of two reasons why the reader agrees with the statement and one reason the statement might not be true.

No child is the same, some are good and Maths, some at Reading and writing, some in sports and fine arts. The reason I believe formal education tends to restrain our minds is because it does not look at the child’s special needs but instead uses the same rigid way to educate our children. For example if we can go back to Albert Einstein’s we can see that he is basically stating that you have to judge someone’s intelligence by the one thing they know best and not by an educational system that has been put in place and has been allowed to be the one way we judge intelligence in someone. There are children that do exceptionally well in drawing or playing the guitar, and are dismally failing in formal education, so does this mean they are dumb? Absolutely not! So what formal education does is that it restricts the child’s mind to thinking they are not geniuses because they are getting D grades, but if we put these children in a school of arts focusing on the one thing they know best they would often times than not do exceptionally well.

Furthermore, Formal education has from a young age moulded us into believing that in order for us to be successful we need to get good grades, and get a good job by working for someone. It has neglected the fact that some people do not need good grades to become successful but can nurture their gifts and talents or even start their own business to become successful. There are a lot of unemployed people in the Kingdom of Eswatini with degrees and masters from prestigious universities but are living in poverty because no one is employing them. This is because formal education has restrained their minds into believing that they need to go out and get hired by someone when in fact they can they can start their own businesses or consultancy with their expertise and knowledge.

Lastly formal educational is not all bad in that it is a necessity to acquiring basic problem solving skills, reasoning, strategic thinking and debunking as well as basic human conduct which are very important in our everyday lives. There tends to be a huge difference between an imbecile and a learned person because of these fine skills that are learnt through formal education.

With that said Formal education has to find a way in which they can work with each student personally and design their own specific way they will learn and be productive. A way that includes formal education but does not put an emphasis on it so that a child’s intelligence may be judged on the things they are good at. In this way the child will get to learn both the fine skills that come with formal education and will also develop child talents and skills simultaneously.