The function of art is not to keep pace with science and technology but rather to provide an escape from these forces.

The speaker maintain two claims as the function of art is not to keep pace with science and technology. I concede with these claim to the extent that art does not necessarily need to keep pace with science and technology rather it has its own time and way of going forward. A for the second claim which states arts provide escapes from these forces it too extreme. Art usually does not intend provide escape form other worldly things rather it enhances the beauty of it and in many cases makes us feel more accepted in our own skin.

Firstly, Art does not necessarily need to keep pace with the advancing science and technology. But in many cases in can definitely reap the benefit to stay topical. For instance, photography is a form of art, which gives pleasure to both the capturer and the person seeing it. With time the advancement in technology and the change in camera have helped people to capture the minute details which were impossible earlier. Art in these case have willingly accepted and impute to the technology to extract the greater essence of art in its own pace.

At the same time no matter of technology can change the crudeness of sculpture and turn it into a two dimensional form to reach to the further corner of the world in seconds. Since it form of art is better perceived with physical presence. Technology can embolden the method of creating things but at the end it is the form of art and the artist community who decide which advancement to corroborate with and which one to set free.

The main purpose of art be it paintings, photography, music, sculpture or architecture every genre has its won source of relief and to offer to the audience. The intention of art is always to serve its audience and connect the artist along with it. It does not necessarily care about providing escape from other forces. The aura any sort of art creates for its recipient it always fascinating since it release the stress for the person. But it many cases it has to accept the technology or science in order to reach to the audience or by default to make it more good. Take the advancement of animation film, which incorporates extensive art with technology to present its audience a next level of phenomenal work. Also the film is watch din television or ay such medium which is technology itself.

In sum, it can be said the advancement in science and technology does not necessarily impair the art and crafts rather in many cases it nourishes it. Art is not here to compete with any other things not in terms of pace neither giving an escape route to its audience from technology. Art moves with it own pace and accept whatever is coming towards it with its sheer willingness.