“Government funding should never be used to support art that the majority of the

population finds distasteful or objectionable.”

Write an essay in which you take a position on the statement above. In developing and

supporting your position, you should consider whether the above statement is always

true or whether there are exceptions to it.

Should Government funding be used to support art that are distasteful to the majority of the population? Some would argue that arts are essential to preserve the history and culture of a society no matter how distasteful they are. Others believe that exception should be made if such art goes against the interest of the public and argue that some histories are better off forgotten. In my view, Government funding should not be used for supporting arts that are distasteful to the population because safeguarding taxpayer's interest should be on top of their priority list. I am also of the opinion that any government that finances art that is distasteful to the people deserves to be chastised.

The statue of George Washington, an erstwhile president of the United State of America was recently pulled down during the Black Lives Matter (BLM) Movement that erupted across the major cities of the country over the killing of an unarmed black man accused of spending fake note. Yes, something as trivial as that. Many believed he would not have been killed if he was white and this prompted the damage of statues which stand as a figure of white supremacy. George Washington was believed to be a notorious slave master who ensured that whites have more privileges and enjoy better representation. This past record of his is appalling to the present population and would rather not have his statue displayed in public spaces. It would be bad for any government to continue to channel taxpayer's money to such arts that are distasteful to the population.

Also, consider the clamour by the majority of the populace in United Kingdom that arts which were stolen or obtained by other immoral means, and which do not have root in the history of the society should be returned to their places of origin. Huge number of artefacts with root source in Benin, Nigeria now find their place in several museums across United Kingdom with little or no explanation as to how they were acquired except that they were carted away during the colonial era. This is a good example of cases where taxpayer's money is used to safeguard arts the population find distasteful because they have little or no connection with them.

In conclusion, it is clear that Government has no right to fund arts the population find distasteful with taxpayer's money. The statue of George Washington that was pulled down during the Black Lives Matter Movement and Clamour against museums across United Kingdom getting filled with stolen artefacts are exceptional examples of why it is morally and constitutionally wrong for government to support art the population find objectionable with taxpayer's money.