"Government should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development"

Over the centuries, eccentric thinkers have innovated unimaginable breakthroughs in several fields and in certain cases, they pushed themselves beyond the accepted norms. Restrictions are of utmost importance as they give government the means to truncate , to an extent, the length such scientists should go.

History has shown that man can be malevolent. Although the world has greatly thrived from innovative and ingenious scientific and technological breakthroughs, it has also been plagued by certain inventions. Currently, certain countries own weapons that can annihilate a large population of the world. Certain diseases have been, perhaps accidentally, introduced into today's society, causing serious and detrimental effects. Drugs containing opioid have led to high rate of addiction. Without adequate restrictions in place, scientists are likely to "tear the very fabric of reality". Profit oriented companies might be willing to go beyond recommended safety protocols or values in a bid to create a novel product and more often than not, this might eventually lead to catastrophes.

The importance of imposing restrictions, however little, cannot be overemphasized. Government can use such restrictions to check companies or scientists in various fields. In agriculture, scientists are constantly looking for means to create more resistant and prolific species, usually by adding chemicals or cross breeding of certain animals. They invent chemical fertilizers and pesticides, which without proper restrictions in place, harmful chemicals would find its way into agricultural field leading to dire circumstances. Bakers have been known to add a chemical, Bromate, in producing bread to cheaply increase the size. However, Bromate is deleterious to health when consumed, and restrictions from the government have much prevented bakers from continuing in such practices.

In as much as restrictions are necessary, in a few cases, society requires scientists to take certain leaps of faith to create solutions. A scientist has gone as far as injecting himself with an infectious disease, to simply prove to the world that he had actually invented the cure. Such rare cases have led to scientific progress.

Scientific innovations have massively transformed the world beyond our imaginations, however in cases where the processes to such innovations are not controlled in any way, could lead disastrous and possibly irreversible outcomes. Although the world requires great thinkers who would question beliefs we hold in esteem, it also needs people who would restrict these thinkers.