Government should reduce purely scientific endeavours like space exploration to get more funds towards humanitarian projects

Government should reduce purely scientific endeavours like space exploration to get more funds towards humanitarian projects and focus on providing the basic necessities for its citizens.

Throughout history, space technology has changed the way everyday things work from using paper maps to using GPS to get directions for a destination. Millions of dollars were used to get here but also think about the money that was lost when the project didn’t succeed. Out of 10 projects, at the least if one project costs 1 million dollars for the government, considering the very low success rate of 10% the 9 million dollars spent was of no impact.

Since the major duty of a government is to ensure that it fulfils the basic needs of its people like food, shelter, clothing, electricity, etc they should have used the money that otherwise went in the failed science experiments. In the limited funds that the government has, once we cut the funds from space endeavours, the room for humanitarian funds automatically burgeon. People are still fighting for their basic rights worldwide undergoing starvation, homelessness, lack of medical amenities and much more. Government funds can alleviate the sufferings of such people in real time by building homes, providing food, medical assistance in the affected areas.

The amount of funds raised for space projects are higher than for humanitarian projects. They are so lost in the idea of invention and discovery that they lost sight of the whole experience which is helping the man on the ground. Did space exploration solve the water crisis or open new avenues for curing diseases? No, so let’s use that money and put it under humanitarian projects and help fight these social issues.

In conclusion, if the government decreases the funds allotted to space exploration, it opens new avenues to tackle the global social issues. We can witness increased research, development in humanitarian projects and accomplish the main task of providing basic rights to the citizens.