Governments are justified in circumventing civil laws when doing so is vital to the protection of national security Write an essay in which you take a position on the statement above In developing and supporting your position you should consider ways

Laws shall be respected by everyone and each entity such as governments that is a well-known fact. If a government are justified in breaking laws, one could think that its powers are endless and could harm the whole society. A greedy politician might not pay taxes because the government are justified in breaking laws.

However, governments have various duties toward their people and fulfill their duties could lead to complex situations where civil laws must be circumvented by governments. I believe, if it is a matter of national security, governments could circumvent some civil laws.

First of all, civil laws concern everyone including governments and the first duty of governments is to protect their citizens. Besides, one should bear in mind that is members of governments who have the power to pass a bill. That being said, no civil law should be seen as an obstacle for the protection of national security. Thus, if members of a government are competent, governments won’t need to circumvent any law for protecting their people. Nevertheless, there will always be exceptions and incompetent members of government.

If any, governments must always fulfill their first duty which means to protect the society from any kind of danger. For instance, imagine a suspected terrorist is going to attack, we can easily think that governments should collect information about the terrorist even if that means to break some civil laws and hacking his or her computer. No one would demand to the government a justification. For instance, the state of Israel and their citizens are known to often be a victim of terrorist attack, their police forces consistently collect data from suspected terrorists in order to prevent them from attacking Israelis. One should bear in mind that situation concerns national security, for other situations that do not concern national security governments must respect their own laws.

To conclude, I am of the point of view that governments should protect their people no matter what, their first duty is to protect civilians. If protecting civilians means to break some laws, they must do it but that also means they fail to pass effective laws because they could have anticipating that some laws will be an obstacle for their greatest duty.