Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Governments are born to serve people. Some say that government should address the problem of today, because it can result in immediate benefit for locals, and further preventing the future crisis caused by the problem of today. If a city have a huge traffic jam during rush hour, the way to solve the problem is to build a public transportation for commuters, reducing the traffic flow. It is, sometimes, true, but considering the long-term metropolitan development, this opinion is questionable. If we only focus on the traffic problem of today and ignore the importance of urban planning, this solution for today will be the problem of future. Thus, I reckon the government should prioritize the problem of the future.

The solution of problem of today is usually myopic and tragic, causing more severe plague, hardly solved in the future. The government willing to deal with the problem of today only focus on one aspect and does not notice other derivative issues following the solution damaging the future development of cities. Having the example mentioned above, the traffic jam, we have to exam the problem carefully. Due to the public transportation system covering whole city, we need more examination for the routes, station locations, and population density, making the problem can be solved completely. Governments need more data or public voice to evaluate whether the price of the tickets are reasonable. The vehicles should be electric buses or internal combustion buses. It is very complicated to diagnose a REAL problem by a subtle current issue.

In order to solve traffic jam, our local government introduce a on-road bus system, BRT, to be the solution. The government expected to see benefit by its high people-carrying capacity and its low price construction. Without attracting people to take the bus and reducing the traffic flow, however, the system actually caused more problem of traffic jam, because its huge body occupied a pathway that other private can not drive but the pathway were for the private vehicles before the system built. Citizens living in the city still remain the same living mode, but the buses take a roadway without riding many people to achieve the target to solve the traffic jam. Instead, it strengthen the level of traffic jam.

Because the government only concern a little problem so that they can take this accomplishment to be a good resume for the mayor’s reelection. Because the mayor regards each problem as an independent event rather than consecutive chain events. We, citizens, suffer. Before we benefits from BRT, building the system causes more serious trouble like severe traffic jam around construction sites— a dark period that citizens are reluctant to experience the inconvenience. That the way to solve it is to optimize public transportation for commute does not ring true. We rather not take BRT but UBER. Thus, the government should prioritize the problem of the future— I agree with the state.