Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Immediate problems are usually the focus of a government’s effort during planning as they are more apparent and pervasive as compared to anticipated problems of the future. In addition, the degree of urgency and relevance is another factor why governments tend to focus on current issues before delving into other areas.

However, it is insufficient for governments to solely focus on tackling current problems and neglecting future problems. This is because future issues will develop over time into current issues and in some situations may also share underlying relations to the central problem.

A good example is China, its economy has grown exponentially in the past decade after its market reformation. The Chinese government in the recent years has been focusing its efforts on improving China’s infrastructure in order to facilitate global trade and thus boost economical growth. Examples of this are investments in areas such as education and transportation. In the past, the main means of travelling from China to Hong Kong was either by air or by sea, however with the new high speed rail, businessmen can now travel within an hour to Hong Kong a key financial hub in Asia to conduct business. This advancement in technology undoubtedly provides increased efficiency and ease for trade.

However, this is paints only the bright side of the picture. Along with industrialisation of the economy, detrimental environmental consequences have arisen. In China, air pollution in China is so prevalent to the point where Chinese have smartphone apps which indicate pollution levels at any time in any Chinese city just as a weather app would report if it there is sun or rain. Although environmental aspects were not the central focus of the Chinese government, it has increasingly been put on the spotlight in recent times. Environmental pollution can not only cause detrimental health problems such as respiratory illnesses but will also affect the quality of local produce and livestock. This in turn can lead to repercussions for the workforce and affect the productivity of the economy.

Therefore, I disagree with the statement to a strong extent and suggest that governments should pay attention to both latent and apparent problems in a country. If future issues are not foreseen, acknowledged and addressed, it can potentially add to the complexity and seriousness of current problems.