Governments should not fund any science research who consequences are unclear

I believe that governments shouldn’t fund research whose consequences are unclear, but it doesn’t mean that it would always produces expected achievements even with anticipated results.

Every research project should have clear goals and consequences, especially government-funded, we could not waste public money and shoot in the dark. Once the government invests the research, there should be achievement or finding carried out and help the public interest eventually. If the research comes with a specific consequence, then the research staff would work toward the goals clearly. Like the project kick-off in the business, there is carefully monitored and tracked to make sure the investment productive. For example, Taiwan government funded several projects in semiconductor field in order to help technologies companies grow and develop capabilities so that they could compete with other worldwide companies. And eventually the developed technologies successfully become the initial bedrock of TSMC(Taiwan Semiconductor manufacturing Company) which is world’s 1st semiconductor manufacturing company today.

On the contrary, If the uncertainty of the research is allowed, it causes several problems. The governments who have no idea to anticipate what kind of results produced have no way to estimate the impact of results and it could be dangerous. If human-cloning is allowed to investigate, there are many people having identical gene with someone. It corrupts the security rules based on the unique identity of gene. For instance, if one of clone steals money and then his fingerprint is found by police. However, it’s hard for justice to determine which one violating laws, because all of clones have the same fingerprints and face. Therefore, governments should not fund research with unclear results like human-cloning.

Additionally, the research expecting certain consequence doesn’t always produce expected results, it could be successful for the original target, fail or even becomes a solution for other problems. For example, Minoxidil was a medicine originally for high blood pressure treatment. It comes with side effects that could cause hair growth and eventually turn out to be the external topical solution to the skin of the head for curing bald. Another example is that the industrial revolution happened during the 19th century, the invented steam generators substitute for massive labor work, but they also cause a lot of people losing their jobs. Therefore, even the consequence is predicted clearly, the final impact of the research is still unknown.

To conclusion, the clear targets for government-funded research plan are necessary to use budget efficiently, In contrast, that with unknown results shouldn’t be funded because it could be adverse to security. And the results could be unexpected even with lucid targets.