The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview.

"It is time for the city of Grandview to stop funding the Grandview Symphony Orchestra. It is

true that the symphony struggled financially for many years, but last year private

contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent and attendance at the symphony's

concerts-­in­-the­park series doubled. In addition, the symphony has just announced an

increase in ticket prices for next year . For these reasons, we recommend that the city

eliminate funding for the Grandview Symphony Orchestra from next year's budget. We

predict that the symphony will flourish in the years to come even without funding from the

city ."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order

to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to

explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the argument, the author suggests that the symphony will flourish in the years to come even without funding from the city because of private contribution increasing by 200 percent and attendance double at concerts-in-the-park. However, there are questions listed below need answering to strengthen the argument.

The writer claims that considerably increasing income from private contribution leads to a financial independent Symphony group in the following years. It could be true that that symphony group could be financially sustainable by themselves because there is tremendous private contribution and that occupies more than half of the overall income of that Symphony group. Also, the private contribution is donated as continuous and steady from the donator in next ten years and the source of the donate is pretty reliable. Still, the detailed of the composition for the private contribution of the overall income of symphony is unknown and has to be answered. Because the probable explanation is that the private income of the overall is scarce. For instance, it only contributes 1% of the overall income of Symphony group, then it’s barely to convince readers of a financial independent music group.

Additionally, the reporter proposes that the number of attendance at the symphony’s concerts-in-the-park double will causes financially sustainable in the future. Nevertheless, a question about the composition of the audience of the concerts-in-the-parks should be presented. Because in an open space like a park and no ticket fee that everyone could walk into the park for jogging, exercising or something else than attending a music play. Maybe 90% of the audience is not interested in the play of the symphony at all, the author has to answer the detailed purpose of the audience attending the play to make the argument more cogent.

Furthermore, the author says that the ticket prices are going to increase for next year so that more financial income is expected. However, does the increasing prices cause the declination of the audience? It is possible that fewer and fewer people are going to attend a symphony because the prices are rising. Therefore, even the prices are double, the number of an audience becomes a quarter as many as it was before, the overall income from tickets will be cut to half of this year. It is recommended for the writer to consider the possibility to make the prediction more accurate.

Plus, the author suggests that the funding for that Symphony group could be eliminated based on the reasons mentioned in the argument. However, he or she needs to answer the financial analysis plan in the following years. It is possible that the overall benefit from increasing ticket prices and the private contribution and more audience is barely to survive without any financial aid and it is going to go break in the next years. Thus, the writer needs to analyze the financial plan more specific and detailed to make the music group more sustainable.

In conclusion, the readers could not believe the argument unless the questions mentioned above to be answered by the author and made the argument more convincing.