Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take In developing a

Research paves the way for future inventions . If scientists were not engaged in research , then there would be innumerable things which would have been unknown to us. It is also a blessing in disguise that government gives utmost importance to these scientific research such that researchers could efficiently could do their work. This prompt recommends that governments should restrict themselves from providing any fund to scientific research as the consequences are quite unclear. In my opinion, it is a matter of debate and I mostly agree with this idea. The following two reasons are my thoughts in this regard.

Each and every research has its own unique result. But this result could take the positive or negative side . If the outcome has negative consequences , then it would not only affect people who are engaged in it but would also affect its surroundings . And this is a very common scenario for any scientific research and as a result of that government faces the unwanted consequences and have to go out of their way to cover up the consequences . For instance, nuclear power and consequently, nuclear weapons has been the deadliest inventions of all the time . Even though it was invented for good cause, the outcome has made a huge negative impact on human lives. Now governments not only played a meaningful role in protecting human lives , but also funded a lumpsum amount of their budget in the development of this research . If the research of nuclear power and thereby , nuclear weapons would be have been scotched at the initial stage , then government would not have to work so hard on saving their nation .From this, we can say that governments should not provide any fund to scientific research whose outcomes are obfuscating and can get easily deflected.

But this might lead to another unwanted consequence . If government does not consider any fund for scientific research in their budget , then we might miss out many useful and unique inventions. For instance, if the governments restrict themselves from investing in space research , then it would a big loss for human kind as we will be forever deprived from the knowledge and interesting and valuable information about planets , stars and our solar system . Also threats like asteroids cannot be anticipated and many more . If governments abnegate funding on scientific research , then the desired outcome may not be fruitful.

It is not an inevitable fact that scientific research will have lucid consequences , but there are certain times where financial aid provided by government on these researches could be extremely helpful for the society. However, we cannot make a concrete decision as this is a matter of debate.