Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Educational institutions are one of the utmost and critical part of a student’s life. To meet the growing demands of education and ever increasing number of students along with economic inflation, the cost of institutions have also gone quite high. This makes the situation more complicated for students who have lower socioeconomic status. They have to make a choice between attending the university and piling up loans which they might spent their whole life paying back. Or to not attend the university at all even after qualifying with merit leading to the waste of a potential talent. Naturally, public will demand justice and equality for the unfortunate and the government will have to address the issue.

The purpose of the above statement is to bridge the discussion of how the government could step in to resolve the situation. They could provide funding to assist the students in need of financial help. Not only this policy helps in increasing the socioeconomic status of lower class people it also increases the overall literacy of the nation and maintain higher threshold of talent in the university. To further illustrate my point, take the example of Kerela, a relatively poor state in the 20th century had rose to become a distinguished state in India over last decade. It has now hundred percent literacy thanks to its state government giving full financial aid to any student in need and promoting educational programs and exhibits all across the state. The government have now become a icon of what a ideal democratic rule looks like and have also produced multiple talents in various fields of science and technology in the last decade.

However, any system could be exploited and this holds true for this one too. A university is also a profit-seeking corporation. Getting funded by government may incite a institute to seek even more students to capitalize on the policy and make more money. This could lead to overwhelming amount of students which the institute might neither have the required number of faculty for nor the proper amount of resources. This could lead to declination in quality of education which is just polar to what the policy was made for. Students, too, might be tempted to provide misleading or fraudulent information in hopes of getting scholarship in order to get free university education. Since the government could also not provide unlimited resources, this might lead to retracting the policy bringing everything to square one.

This leads to the dilemma of weighing the positive consequences with the negative and determining if the advantages is worth the risk of the loss. One possible solution may be that government should provide only limited amount of scholarship based on student’s need and it should be regulated by a third party to keep check on the respective student’s and the university’s background. This is to make sure no one could exploit the structure unrelentlessly so that the quality of the education could be maintained.

In conclusion, the policy in its bare bones format might be devastating to both the student and the government in future. The scarce government resources must be utilized in regulation and with proper screening of the affected parties such that exploitation is kept to bare minimum. Thus, the policy must be reviewed to achieve maximum benefit from it in the long run.